Home Review HostPapa Review

HostPapa Review

by
Hostpapa feature

HostPapa hosts over 500,000 websites on its data centers in the US and Canada.

That’s impressive considering they’ve only been around since 2006 (founded by Jamie Opalchuck).

One potential explanation for their meteoric rise could be their various customer service options, offering phone support in a few different languages including English, French, Spanish and German to both domestic and international clients.

They must be doing something right to have grown so quickly over the past few years.

In order to find out, we purchased the HostPapa ‘Starter Plan’ in June of 2015. We set-up a simple WordPress website. You can dive into its in-depth performance statistics including uptime and speed (click ‘History’ for more info).

Let’s take a look at how they measure up against the thirty other reviews we’ve done so far:

Pros of Using HostPapa Hosting

After joining, we were eager to perceive what really matters to them. What might cause such a speedy rising?

From the start, we were wonderfully amazed by their extraordinary uptime (as you’ll see). They additionally offer a plenty of client care choices to look over.

Everything looks OK! However, would they be able to satisfy everyone’s expectations? How about we investigate.

1. Great Uptime

We’re glad to report that HostPapa’s uptime has been acceptable since the very beginning.

They’ve posted a two year normal of 99.95% uptime.

While it sounds worn out and self-evident, you’d be astounded exactly the number of web has battle with the most central component of really facilitating a site — keeping the damn thing live!

Most recent year normal uptime:

  • January 2020 normal uptime: 99.99%
  • December 2019 normal uptime: 100%
  • November 2019 normal uptime: 99.88%
  • October 2019 normal uptime: 99.70%
  • September 2019 normal uptime: 100%
  • August 2019 normal uptime: 99.94%
  • July 2019 normal uptime: 99.95%
  • June 2019 normal uptime: 99.98%
  • May 2019 normal uptime: 100%
  • April 2019 normal uptime: 100%
  • Walk 2019 normal uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2019 normal uptime: 99.63%

2. Above Industry-Average Speed

HostPapa’s uptime was incredible and their page stacking speed is likewise better than average.

Throughout the most recent two years, they had a page load season of posting a 705ms, which beats our industry-standard outcome.

hostpapa speed

3. Broad Support Options

HostPapa offers broad help alternatives to help clients in an assortment of ways.

You can peruse their enormous library of self improvement recordings. They offer day in and day out help through telephone, mail, email and even fax (!).

They give telephone uphold in 18 nations (which may be the most we’ve seen from any organization). They’re one of the main hosts to offer help in various dialects, including English, French, Spanish, and German.

As though that is insufficient, they additionally offer an intriguing help highlight permitting you to associate in a one-on-one meeting with ‘Father Squad Experts’, which are basically guided walkthroughs utilizing video or phone gathering (likewise – it’s the best client assistance title ever!!).

During our very own examination, we got a reaction in under a moment from their care staff. Answers to questions were given inside a humble two minutes.

hostpapa-live-chat support

Generally speaking, our involvement in Gezim V, our client support rep, was entirely acceptable.

4. Proactive Security Features

HostPapa’s shared facilitating plans accompany Panda Cloud antispam insurance empowered, just as a worker firewall, checking, and interruption discovery. More than 37,000 sites get hacked day by day, so HostPapa’s proactive safety efforts are consoling.

Their Business Pro arrangement likewise accompanies extra highlights including space security insurance, a free SSL declaration, a devoted IP address, and mechanized site reinforcements.

The exact opposite thing you have to stress over is security subtleties like spam assurance. It’s ideal to have another person watch your back.

5. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee and Site Migration

HostPapa offers an industry-standard 30-day unconditional promise for the greater part of their facilitating plans.

Furthermore, they’ll readily assist you with moving a current site from another host (while likewise tossing in a free area name as well).

6. Great Value at the Cost

HostPapa’s essential evaluating begins at $3.95 for the initial three years. In the event that you’d preferably recently pursue a year or two, it’ll be about a buck extra in the two cases.

This valuing is additionally lower for new clients. That implies restoration evaluating will increment to $7.99/month on this equivalent Starter plan. So not the best news generally speaking, however genuinely normal.

Fortunately they do toss in a great deal of significant worth for this underlying estimating. You get two sites, contrasted with only one that most different hosts offer. You additionally get free space enlistment, 100GB SSD stockpiling, and unmetered transmission capacity.

Great, correct?

In any case, that is not all. You’ll additionally get their “Fundamental Features” which incorporates a free site relocation, Cloudflare CDN, SSL declaration, and admittance to their 400+ applications and web designer.

So generally, it’s a great worth. Different hosts would make you pay for this stuff, effectively pushing the month to month cost up well over this underlying $3.95/month go

Cons of Using HostPapa Hosting

Sure, HostPapa had good uptime and decent speed results.

Unfortunately, other customers haven’t shared the same positive experience we had. There are also some issues with hidden fees relating to just how ‘free’ the money-back guarantee and website setup really is.

Take a look.

1. Poor Customer Experience with Support

Personally, our customer support experience went smoothly.

When we conducted a background check into how other customers viewed their extensive support options, the picture wasn’t so rosy.

Despite the HUGE number of available options or avenues to reach HostPapa, the overall customer experience on average is below par.

2. Additional Fees

Most web hosts will set up your website for free. Most web hosts will also offer a ‘free money-back guarantee.’

Apparently, two rights make a wrong…

IF you DO request a refund during that 30-day window, they WILL charge you a $29.95 setup fee upon cancellation.

This means, technically, it’s not a ‘free’ money-back guarantee and it’s not a ‘free’ website setup either.

So thanks, but no thanks.

Overview on HostPapa Hosting Plans + Quick Facts

Starter
$3.95Per Month
Business Pro
$12.95Per Month

Do We Recommend HostPapa?

Yes

Their uptime was good and speed decent. They have a TON of different support options available, and we personally had a positive experience.

Digging deeper we found out that the support experience across the board is too inconsistent. And there are too many hidden fees that make their ‘low’ promotion pricing hard to stomach.

There are simply too many other good web hosts out there that give you a better bang for your buck.

You may also like

Leave a Comment